D e p a r t m e n t   o f


The students entering the Mathematics stream follow a common study programme offered by various Departments in the Year 1 and 2. At the end of the year 2, the students are selected for various Special degree programmes on merit. Those who have not been selected for Special degree programmes continue with the General degree courses in the Year 3.

Curriculum Design and Content

The present curriculum is based on course unit system which was implemented in the year 2000. Under this system, Faculty of Science academic programme is divided into four levels:

100, 200, 300 and 400. After successfully completing first three levels, undergraduates can graduate with a General Degree in Science. But those who are enrolled in Special Degree programmes or in Four-year Degree programmes will have to complete all four levels. Under the course unit system, Department of Mathematics offers courses for five degree programmes: General Degree in Science, Special Degree in Mathematics, Statistics & Operations Research, Computation & Management and Applied Sciences. All courses are conducted in English medium.

Syllabi of the courses offered under undergraduate programmes