UoP Logo

English Language Teaching Unit

The English Language Teaching Unit (ELTU) of the Faculty of Science is a sub-unit of the Department of English Language Teaching, whose main purpose is to provide language guidance to the students to follow the degree programmes in the medium of English. Since a large majority of the students who enter the Faculty have followed their school education in their first language (Sinhala or Tamil), the guidance and support provided by the ELTU is essential for the undergraduates for the smooth transition from their first language to English. To meet this objective, the ELTU conducts five courses: the Intensive English Course, English for Academic Purposes, English for Professional Purposes, English for Special Purposes and Applied English Course, of which most are compulsory credit courses. Further, the ELTU contributes towards enhancing the soft skills of the undergraduates through various practical language activities such as the Speechcraft programme, drama workshops, variety shows, etc. In order to cater to the above needs, the ELTU, Faculty of Science comprises of a well-qualified trained staff and a well-equipped digital language lab.