D e p a r t m e n t   o f



Prof. S.H.P. Parakrama Karunaratne

Senior Professor & Chair of Zoology

Academic Staff Home  

About Me

B.Sc., M.Sc. (Perad.), Ph.D, (Lond.); Deputy Vice Chancellor, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka (Jan 2018 to date); Director & Senior Research Professor/ National Institute of Fundamental Studies, Sri Lanka (Sept 2015 – Dec 2017); Senior Professor & Chair of Zoology (2001 to date); Dean, Faculty of Science (2007-2013) University of Peradeniya; Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences Sri Lanka ( since 2006) & Elected Fellow of the Royal Entomological Society, London, UK (since 1997); Member of the DDT expert group, WHO, Geneva, Switzerland (2015 – 2019); Research publications 80 in peer reviewed Journals, 2225 citations ; Google Scholar h-index of 25;. Several National and International Awards for Excellence in Research; Research interest on Mosquito control, Insecticide resistance in insects, Molecular mechanisms of insecticide resistance, Control of insect pests in agriculture and insect vectors of human and livestock diseases, DNA barcoding and phylogeny of insects, Insect ecology, behavior and molecular biology.

Positions Held

Deputy Vice Chancellor/ University of Peradeniya - (Jan 2018 to date)

Director & Senior Research Professor/ National Institute of Fundamental Studies (NIFS), Hantana, Kandy, Sri Lanka - (Oct 2015 to Dec 2017)

Dean/ Faculty of Science, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka - (April 2007 - April 2013)

Chairman/ Board of Study in Zoological Sciences, Postgraduate Institute of Science, Peradeniya, Sri Lanka - (Oct 2004 - April 2007)

Wellcome Trust Research Fellow, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Pembroke place, Liverpool L3 5QA, England, UK - (Oct 2002 – Sept 2004)

View More ...

Head/ Department of Zoology, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka - (Jan 2006 - April 2007)

Visiting Research Professor, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine  - (2004 – 2010)

Visiting Research Fellow, School of Biosciences, Cardiff University, Wales, UK - (1994 – 2001)

Member, DDT Expert Group, UNEP/ WHO, Geneva, Switzerland - (2015-2019)

Member, NSF Working Committee on Basic Sciences, National Science Foundation (NSF), Sri Lanka - (2017-2020)

Member, Study Group on the Basic Science Research Policy, National Science & Technology Commission, Sri Lanka (NASTEC) - (2017-2020)

Member, National Standing Committee on Science, University Grants Commission, Sri Lanka - (2007-2013)

Member, National Committee on Basic Sciences, National Science Foundation, Sri Lanka - (2008 - 2011)

Member, International Advisory Committee, Zoological Society of India - (July 2012 to date)

Member, Integrated Vector Management Committee, Ministry of Health, Sri Lanka - (2012 to date)

Member, Integrated Mosquito Control Programme, Central Environmental Authority, Sri Lanka - (2013 to date)

Ongoing Research and Projects

Dengue vector control in Sri Lanka

Occurrence of `kdr’ type mutations and wolbachia in Aedes mosquito populations, and the effect of insecticide fogging on insect pollinators

Characterization of anopheline and culicine mosquitoes of Sri Lanka through DNA barcoding

Species diversity and the potential vector status of frog-biting mosquitoes in selected localities in the wet and dry zones of Sri Lanka

Repellant, Irritant and toxic effects of plant extracts on adult mosquitoes

Memberships & Awards


CVCD Excellence Award (2016) for the most outstanding senior researcher in the field of biological sciences including agriculture and allied sciences, Committee of Vice Chancellors and Directors, University Grant Commission, Sri Lanka


Vestergaard Frandsen Award (2011) for outstanding research contribution, National Academy of Vector Borne Diseases, Bhubaneswar, Indian Council of Medical Research, INDIA.


Bernard Soysa Memorial Award (Gold Medal) (2005) for Outstanding Scientific Research, Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science.


Hiran Thilakaratne Award for Outstanding Postgraduate Research (Natural Sciences), University Grants Commission, Sri Lanka (2001)


Young Scientist Award (1999), Third World Academy of Science- Italy & National Science Foundation- Sri Lanka).


Wellcome Trust Research Award, Welcome Trust, UK (2001)


Presidential Research Awards (1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2010)


NRC Merit Award for Scientific Publication (2012, 2013), National Research Council, Sri Lanka


Best Research Award in Science (2000), University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka


National Science Foundation Merit Award for the Best Scientific Research in Biology (1999), National Science Foundation- Sri Lanka


Research Development Award in Tropical Medicine, Wellcome Trust, UK, (1994)


Wilson Peiris memorial Award, Sri Lanka Medical Council (1989)