| Home | Undergraduate Courses | Postgraduate Courses | Projects | Research | Prizes and Scholarships |



Department of Physics pursued research in the following areas:


Staff Member/ Members
Solid State Ionics                              Dr. P.W.S.K. Bandaranayake, Dr. L.R.A.K. Bandara
Ceramics                                Prof. B.S.B. Karunaratne
Polymers                                Dr. V.A. Seneviratne
Semiconductors   Prof. K. Premaratne
Nuclear Physics                     Dr. R.L. Wijayawardana, Dr. C.P Jayalath
Medical and Biophysics          Dr. V. Sivakumar
Computational Physics           Dr. P. Samarasekara
Atmospheric Physics               Dr. J.P. Liyanage


1. Workshop
The workshop, managed by the Department of Physics houses lathes, milling machines etc. necessary for metal and woodwork, and facilities for welding and glass blowing 2. Major research equipments

2. Major research equipments
The major equipment available in the Department of Physics are listed below:

1 Atomic Force Microscope (Veeco)

2. X-ray Fluorescence Spectrometer (Fisher-Scope XAN)

3. Polarizing Microscope (Euro Max)

4. Gamma Spectrometer (Tl activated NaI Detector system)

5. Geiger Muller Counter

6. Solar simulator

7. Spectrophotometers

8. Impedance Gain Phase Analyzer

9. Complex Impedance Analyzer (HP 4192 )

10. Telescopes

Consultation and Services

Consultancy services are offered through the Science-Industry Interaction Cell of the Faculty of Science. Most of the services are offered by using the following analytical and other instruments available in the Department of Physics.
    • XRD
    • AFM
    • Complex Impedance Analyzer
    • Differential Scanning Calorimetry
    • Neutron Activation Analyzer
    • Radiation Tester
    • Polarizing Microscope


| Science Home |University HOME |