Faculty of Science

University of Peradeniya

Faculty of Science

University of Peradeniya

Historical Background

The University of Peradeniya is the legacy of the University of Ceylon first established in Sri Lanka in 1942. The Faculty of Science, comprising the Departments of Botany, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics and Zoology were initially located in Colombo along with other Faculties of the University of Ceylon. It had been decided to have the permanent home of the University in Peradeniya and accordingly, the Faculty of Arts, Oriental Studies, Law, Agriculture, Veterinary and Dental Sciences were established at Peradeniya by the early part of the 1951-60 decade.

In 1961, the buildings of the Faculty of Science were made available at Peradeniya and the admission of the first batch of students took place in the 1961 –62 academic year. In order to accommodate the increasing demand for science education in the country the Faculty of Science in Colombo was allowed to form a second Faculty in Peradeniya and a part of the staff from the Colombo Faculty moved to Peradeniya Faculty at the early stages, while the latter gradually built up the staff by direct recruitment. Both branches of the Faculty functioned under common administration at each of the levels of department and faculty, with common curricula and examinations. In 1967 those segments of the University of Ceylon which were situated in Colombo were constituted as a separate and independent University. Thus, the second Faculty of Science at Peradeniya comes into being on its own, as the Faulty of Science, University of Ceylon, Peradeniya.

Presently the Faculty consists of eight academic departments and two units namely, Department of Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Molecular Biology & Biotechnology, physics, Statistics & Computer Science, Zoology and Computer Unit and Science Education Unit. At present, 400 students are admitted annually student enrolment stands at about 1000 undergraduate and 200 postgraduate research students. There are 110 academic and 120 non – Academic members of staff in the Faculty.

The Faculty of Science offers course of study leading to General and Special Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) Degrees. From the academic year 2001/2002 the 1st year courses are offered on a semester based course unit system. This has significantly increased the course combinations available to students allowing far more flexibility of selection of subject areas. This system was extended to the 2nd, 3rd & 4th year courses in successive years. With the introduction of the Course Unit System, the medium of instruction for all course of study offered by the Faculty was be confined to English.

The general degree programme has been broad-based and restructured to allow increased flexibility, with options to offer minor subjects outside the main disciplines. The major subjects offered are: Applied Mathematics, Biostatistics, Botany, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geology, Higher Mathematics, Molecular Biology & Biotechnology, Physics, Pure Mathematics and Statistics. The minor subjects are Archaeology, Basic Computing, Basic Electronics, Earth Science, Economics, Environmental Science, Foods Science, Management and Science Education. The Faculty at present offers Special degree programmes in Botany, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geology, Mathematics, Molecular Biology & Biotechnology, Physics, Statistics and Zoology.

General degree students may at the end of 3rd year be selected based on performance and given the option of following courses for an additional year with special emphasis on industry-related courses leading to a B.Sc. degree in Applied Sciences in place of a General Degree.

The Faculty also conducts four year B.Sc. degree programmes in Computation and Managements (jointly with the Faculty of Arts) and in Statistics and Operations Research for students admitted from a separate window.

New special degree programmes in Electronics and Instrumentation, Biological Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Solid State Science are proposed for future implementation.

<< General Information