Journal Info

Journal Issues

Other Links


    Editor in Chief
    c/o Dept. of Geology
    University of Peradeniya
    Peradeniya 20400

Ceylon Journal of Science (Physical Sciences)

    Editor-in-Chief : Rohana Chandrajith
    ISSN : 1391-1465(Print Version)

    The Ceylon Journal of Science (CJS) was founded in 1924 by the government of Ceylon bringing together the Annals of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Peradeniya (first published in 1901), the Spolia Zeylanica (first published in 1903) and the Bulletin of the Ceylon Fisheries (first published in 1923). Different branches of science were covered by separately published sections A, B, C, D, E, F and G. With the establishment of the University of Ceylon in 1942, the administration of the Journal was taken up by the University and Spolia Zeylanica reverted to its original status of a separate publication. In 1958 sections A, B and C comprising Botany, Zoology and Fisheries were combined as the Ceylon Journal of Science (Biological Sciences) new series.

    It continues to be published by the University of Peradeniya, Formally the University of Ceylon. The former section D is now the Ceylon Journal of Medical Sciences, published by the University of Colombo. Sections E and F (Mathematics, Physics, Meteorology and Chemistry) are published by the University of Peradeniya as the Ceylon Journal of Science (Physical Sciences) which now also includes Computer Science, Geology, Mineralogy, Science Education, Statistics and related disciplines.

Last update 2012-03-28 08:34:46 AM